Home Basketball WNBA’s Growing Presence and Top-Earning Small Forwards

WNBA’s Growing Presence and Top-Earning Small Forwards

Despite historically being overshadowed by the NBA, the WNBA is making significant strides in visibility and popularity. With over two million viewers for key games and plans to double their media rights, the league is poised for greater prominence.


Small forwards are among the most versatile players in the WNBA, and the highest-paid at this position earn well over $150,000 annually. DeWanna Bonner leads the pack with a $200,000 salary from the Connecticut Sun. She signed a one-year deal with the Sun in February, following a long stint with the Phoenix Mercury, making her the only small forward to earn at least $200,000 annually and over $1 million in her career.


Myisha Hines-Allen is second, earning $180,200 with the Washington Mystics. She secured a three-year contract worth $525,300 in 2022 and was part of the Mystics’ 2019 WNBA championship team.


Isabelle Harrison, with a $160,000 salary from the Chicago Sky, ranks third. Throughout her six-year career with four different teams, Harrison has earned $723,000. She signed a three-year deal worth $320,000 with the Sky in 2023.


Fourth on the list is Aerial Powers of the Atlanta Dream, with a salary of $155,000. She moved to Atlanta from the Minnesota Lynx in February and has accumulated $781,000 in career earnings over seven years, second only to Bonner.

Nia Coffey, also with the Dream, ranks fifth, making $150,000. Coffey received a $60,000 raise from her previous contract with the Los Angeles Sparks.

Only eight of the 25 highest-paid small forwards in the WNBA earn at least $100,000 annually. The Los Angeles Sparks lead with four players among the highest-paid small forwards, while the Atlanta Dream, Chicago Sky, and New York Liberty each have three.

Highest-Paid WNBA Small Forwards

Below is a list of the highest-paid small forwards in the WNBA, compiled using data from Spotrac, as of June 18, 2024.

Rank Player Team Total Compensation
1 DeWanna Bonner Connecticut Sun $200K
2 Myisha Hines-Allen Washington Mystics $180.2K
3 Isabelle Harrison Chicago Sky $160K
4 Aerial Powers Atlanta Dream $155K
5 Nia Coffey Atlanta Dream $150K
6 Rae Burrell Los Angeles Sparks $125K
7 Stephanie Talbot Los Angeles Sparks $115K
T-8 Alysha Clark Las Vegas Aces $110K
T-8 Kayla Thornton New York Liberty $110K
10 Michaela Onyenwere Chicago Sky $85.69K
11 NaLyssa Smith Indiana Fever $80.94K
T-12 Cameron Brink Los Angeles Sparks $76.53K
T-12 Emma Cannon Las Vegas Aces $76.53K
T-12 Rickea Jackson Los Angeles Sparks $76.53K
15 Maddy Siegrist Dallas Wings $75.79K
T-16 Aaliyah Edwards Washington Mystics $73.4K
T-16 Alissa Pili Minnesota Lynx $73.4K
T-16 Angel Reese Chicago Sky $73.4K
19 Nyara Sabally New York Liberty $72K
20 Jordan Horston Seattle Storm $69.7K
21 Leonie Fiebich New York Liberty $67.2K
T-22 Cecilia Zandalasini Minnesota Lynx $64.2K
T-22 Emily Engstler Washington Mystics $64.2K
T-22 Lorela Cubaj Atlanta Dream $64.2K
T-22 Mikiah Herbert Harrigan Phoenix Mercury $64.2K

Ourballsports is a sports portal. The main columns include football, basketball, baseball, volleyball, tennis, badminton, rugby, knowledge, news, etc.

【Contact us: [email protected]

[email protected]

Call: 18066312111

Copyright © 2023 [ [email protected] ]